Australia Flag SVGAustralia Country Codes

Australia, formally known as Australia, is situated in Australia and New Zealand, a subregion of the region Oceania. Its capital city is Canberra. Australia is identified by various country codes. The ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 code, commonly referred to as the 2-letter country code for Australia, is AU, while the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 code, known as the 3-letter country code, is AUS. Similarly, the ISO 3166-1 numeric code for Australia is 36. When connecting via phone, the dialing code for Australia is +61, which is essential for initiating calls to phone numbers in Australia. Online, websites in Australia are distinguished by the top-level domain (TLD) .au, indicating their geographic origin. The currency utilized in Australia is the Australian Dollar, denoted by the currency alphabetic code AUD. Commonly known as the Australian Dollar, it is the primary currency for transactions within the country.

For a comprehensive reference encompassing major country codes, currency codes, and timezones relevant to Australia, please refer the tables below:

Country details

Formal nameAustralia
Sub regionAustralia and New Zealand

ISO Codes

ISO 3166-1 Alpha-2AU
ISO 3166-1 Alpha-3AUS
ISO 3166-1 Numeric36

Dialing Code

Dialing code+61

Other Country Codes

Top Level
License plate codeAUS
UN m49 code36
GAUL code17
MARC codeat
WMO codeAU
EDGAR codeC3
GS1 GTIN code930-939

Currency Codes

CurencyAlphabetic codeNumeric code
Australian DollarAUD36


TimezoneOffset UTCOffset DSTTime
Antarctica / Macquarie+10:00+11:00
Australia / ACT+10:00+11:00
Australia / Adelaide+09:30+10:30
Australia / Brisbane+10:00+10:00
Australia / Broken_Hill+09:30+10:30
Australia / Canberra+10:00+11:00
Australia / Currie+10:00+11:00
Australia / Darwin+09:30+09:30
Australia / Eucla+08:45+08:45
Australia / Hobart+10:00+11:00
Australia / LHI+10:30+11:00
Australia / Lindeman+10:00+10:00
Australia / Lord_Howe+10:30+11:00
Australia / Melbourne+10:00+11:00
Australia / North+09:30+09:30
Australia / NSW+10:00+11:00
Australia / Perth+08:00+08:00
Australia / Queensland+10:00+10:00
Australia / South+09:30+10:30
Australia / Sydney+10:00+11:00
Australia / Tasmania+10:00+11:00
Australia / Victoria+10:00+11:00
Australia / West+08:00+08:00
Australia / Yancowinna+09:30+10:30

ISO 3166-2 Codes

Subdivision nameSubdivision categoryISO Code
Australian Capital TerritoryterritoryAU-ACT
New South WalesstateAU-NSW
Northern TerritoryterritoryAU-NT
South AustraliastateAU-SA
Western AustraliastateAU-WA



Australia is situated in Australia and New Zealand, which is a subregion of the continent of Oceania.

Canberra serves as the capital of Australia.

The ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2, or two-letter country code, for Australia is AU, while the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3, or three-letter country code, is AUS, and the ISO 3166-1 numeric code is 36. ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is a global federation of national standards bodies.

The dialing code for Australia is +61.

The top-level domain (TLD) for Australia-specific internet addresses ends with .au.

The currency code of Australia includes the currency alphabetic code AUD and the currency numeric code 36. The currency is referred to as the Australian Dollar. ISO 4217 is a standard published by the International Organization for Standardization, defining alpha codes and numeric codes for representing currencies and providing information about the relationships between individual currencies and their minor units.

The license plate code for Australia is AUS.

The UN M49 code for Australia is 36. UN M49, or the Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, is a standard used by the United Nations for statistical purposes.

The GAUL code for Australia is 17. GAUL, or the Global Administrative Unit Layers, is a spatial database of administrative units for all countries worldwide. It is a project of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The MARC code for Australia is at. MARC, or machine-readable cataloging standards, are a set of digital formats for describing items cataloged by libraries, such as books, DVDs, and digital resources.

The FIPS code for Australia is AS. FIPS, or Federal Information Processing Standards, are publicly announced standards developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology for use in computer systems by non-military American government agencies and government contractors.

The WMO code for Australia is AU. WMO, or the World Meteorological Organization, is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for promoting international cooperation on atmospheric science, climatology, hydrology, and geophysics.

The IOC code for Australia is AUS. The International Olympic Committee uses three-letter abbreviation country codes to refer to each group of athletes that participate in the Olympic Games. Each geocode usually identifies a National Olympic Committee.

The EDGAR code for Australia is C3. EDGAR, or the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The FIFA code for Australia is AUS. FIFA, or Fédration Internationale de Football Association (International Federation of Association Football), assigns a three-letter country code to each of its member and non-member countries as name abbreviations for countries and dependent areas in official competitions.

The GS1 GTIN code for Australia is 930-939. GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit, international organization developing and maintaining standards, including barcodes. The most well-known of these standards is the barcode, a symbol printed on products that can be electronically scanned.