Country codes of South AfricaSouth Africa

South Africa, formally known as the Republic of South Africa, is located in Sub-Saharan Africa, which is a subregion of Africa. The capital city of South Africa is Pretoria. For international communication, South Africa is identified by various country codes. The ISO 3166-1 numeric code for South Africa is 710, while its ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 code, commonly known as the 2-letter country code, is ZA. Similarly, the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 code, often referred to as the 3-letter country code, is ZAF.

When connecting via phone, the dialing code for South Africa is +27. This code is essential for initiating calls to South Africa phone numbers. Online, South Africa websites are distinguished by the top-level domain (TLD) .za. This domain suffix is indicative of websites associated with South Africa, offering users a clear indication of their geographic origin.

The currency utilized in South Africa is the Rand, denoted by the currency alphabetic code ZAR. Commonly known as the Rand, it is the financial cornerstone of transactions within the country. For a comprehensive reference encompassing major country codes, currency codes, and timezones relevant to South Africa, please refer the tables below:

Country details

Formal namethe Republic of South Africa
Sub regionSub-Saharan Africa

ISO Codes

ISO 3166-1 Alpha-2ZA
ISO 3166-1 Alpha-3ZAF
ISO 3166-1 Numeric710

Dialing Code

Dialing code+27

Other Country Codes

Top Level
License plate codeZA
UN m49 code710
GAUL code227
MARC codesa
WMO codeZA
EDGAR codeT3
GS1 GTIN code600-601

Currency Codes

CurencyAlphabetic codeNumeric code


TimezoneOffset UTCOffset DSTTime

Neighbouring countries

CountryCapitalISO codesDialing codeTLD
Flag of BotswanaBotswanaGaboroneBW /
Flag of LesothoLesothoMaseruLS /
Flag of MozambiqueMozambiqueMaputoMZ /
Flag of NamibiaNamibiaWindhoekNA /
Flag of EswatiniEswatiniMbabaneSZ /
Flag of ZimbabweZimbabweHarareZW /



South Africa is situated in Sub-Saharan Africa, which is a subregion of the continent of Africa.

Pretoria serves as the capital of South Africa.

The ISO 3166-1 numeric code for South Africa is 710, the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 or two-letter country code is ZA, and the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 or three-letter country code is ZAF. ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is a global federation of national standards bodies.

The dialing code for South Africa is +27.

The top-level domain (TLD) for South Africa-specific internet addresses ends with .za.

The currency code of South Africa includes the currency alphabetic code ZAR and the currency numeric code 710. The currency is referred to as the Rand. ISO 4217 is a standard published by the International Organization for Standardization, defining alpha codes and numeric codes for representing currencies and providing information about the relationships between individual currencies and their minor units.

The license plate code of South Africa is ZA.

The UN M49 code for South Africa is 710. UN M49, or the Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, is a standard used by the United Nations for statistical purposes.

The GAUL code for South Africa is 227. GAUL, or the Global Administrative Unit Layers, is a spatial database of administrative units for all countries worldwide. It is a project of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The MARC code for South Africa is sa. MARC, or machine-readable cataloging standards, are a set of digital formats for describing items cataloged by libraries, such as books, DVDs, and digital resources.

The FIPS code for South Africa is SF. FIPS, or Federal Information Processing Standards, are publicly announced standards developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology for use in computer systems by non-military American government agencies and government contractors.

The WMO code for South Africa is ZA. WMO, or the World Meteorological Organization, is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for promoting international cooperation on atmospheric science, climatology, hydrology, and geophysics.

The IOC code for South Africa is RSA. The International Olympic Committee uses three-letter abbreviation country codes to refer to each group of athletes that participate in the Olympic Games. Each geocode usually identifies a National Olympic Committee.

The EDGAR code for South Africa is T3. EDGAR, or the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The FIFA code for South Africa is RSA. FIFA, or Fédration Internationale de Football Association (International Federation of Association Football), assigns a three-letter country code to each of its member and non-member countries as name abbreviations for countries and dependent areas in official competitions.

The GS1 GTIN code for South Africa is 600-601. GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit, international organization developing and maintaining standards, including barcodes. The most well-known of these standards is the barcode, a symbol printed on products that can be electronically scanned.