Country codes of AustriaAustria

Austria, formally known as the Republic of Austria, is located in Western Europe, which is a subregion of Europe. The capital city of Austria is Vienna. For international communication, Austria is identified by various country codes. The ISO 3166-1 numeric code for Austria is 40, while its ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 code, commonly known as the 2-letter country code, is AT. Similarly, the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 code, often referred to as the 3-letter country code, is AUT.

When connecting via phone, the dialing code for Austria is +43. This code is essential for initiating calls to Austria phone numbers. Online, Austria websites are distinguished by the top-level domain (TLD) .at. This domain suffix is indicative of websites associated with Austria, offering users a clear indication of their geographic origin.

The currency utilized in Austria is the Euro, denoted by the currency alphabetic code EUR. Commonly known as the Euro, it is the financial cornerstone of transactions within the country. For a comprehensive reference encompassing major country codes, currency codes, and timezones relevant to Austria, please refer the tables below:

Country details

Formal namethe Republic of Austria
Sub regionWestern Europe

ISO Codes

ISO 3166-1 Alpha-2AT
ISO 3166-1 Alpha-3AUT
ISO 3166-1 Numeric40

Dialing Code

Dialing code+43

Other Country Codes

Top Level
License plate codeA
UN m49 code40
GAUL code18
MARC codeau
WMO codeOS
EDGAR codeC4
GS1 GTIN code900-919

Currency Codes

CurencyAlphabetic codeNumeric code


TimezoneOffset UTCOffset DSTTime

Neighbouring countries

CountryCapitalISO codesDialing codeTLD
Flag of Czech RepublicCzech RepublicPragueCZ /
Flag of GermanyGermanyBerlinDE /
Flag of HungaryHungaryBudapestHU /
Flag of ItalyItalyRomeIT /
Flag of LiechtensteinLiechtensteinVaduzLI /
Flag of SlovakiaSlovakiaBratislavaSK /
Flag of SloveniaSloveniaLjubljanaSI /
Flag of SwitzerlandSwitzerlandBernCH /



Austria is situated in Western Europe, which is a subregion of the continent of Europe.

Vienna serves as the capital of Austria.

The ISO 3166-1 numeric code for Austria is 40, the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 or two-letter country code is AT, and the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 or three-letter country code is AUT. ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is a global federation of national standards bodies.

The dialing code for Austria is +43.

The top-level domain (TLD) for Austria-specific internet addresses ends with .at.

The currency code of Austria includes the currency alphabetic code EUR and the currency numeric code 978. The currency is referred to as the Euro. ISO 4217 is a standard published by the International Organization for Standardization, defining alpha codes and numeric codes for representing currencies and providing information about the relationships between individual currencies and their minor units.

The license plate code of Austria is A.

The UN M49 code for Austria is 40. UN M49, or the Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, is a standard used by the United Nations for statistical purposes.

The GAUL code for Austria is 18. GAUL, or the Global Administrative Unit Layers, is a spatial database of administrative units for all countries worldwide. It is a project of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The MARC code for Austria is au. MARC, or machine-readable cataloging standards, are a set of digital formats for describing items cataloged by libraries, such as books, DVDs, and digital resources.

The FIPS code for Austria is AU. FIPS, or Federal Information Processing Standards, are publicly announced standards developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology for use in computer systems by non-military American government agencies and government contractors.

The WMO code for Austria is OS. WMO, or the World Meteorological Organization, is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for promoting international cooperation on atmospheric science, climatology, hydrology, and geophysics.

The IOC code for Austria is AUT. The International Olympic Committee uses three-letter abbreviation country codes to refer to each group of athletes that participate in the Olympic Games. Each geocode usually identifies a National Olympic Committee.

The EDGAR code for Austria is C4. EDGAR, or the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The FIFA code for Austria is AUT. FIFA, or Fédration Internationale de Football Association (International Federation of Association Football), assigns a three-letter country code to each of its member and non-member countries as name abbreviations for countries and dependent areas in official competitions.

The GS1 GTIN code for Austria is 900-919. GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit, international organization developing and maintaining standards, including barcodes. The most well-known of these standards is the barcode, a symbol printed on products that can be electronically scanned.