India Flag SVGIndia Country Codes

India, formally known as the Republic of India, is situated in Southern Asia, a subregion of the region Asia. Its capital city is New Delhi. India is identified by various country codes. The ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 code, commonly referred to as the 2-letter country code for India, is IN, while the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 code, known as the 3-letter country code, is IND. Similarly, the ISO 3166-1 numeric code for India is 356. When connecting via phone, the dialing code for India is +91, which is essential for initiating calls to phone numbers in India. Online, websites in India are distinguished by the top-level domain (TLD) .in, indicating their geographic origin. The currency utilized in India is the Indian Rupee, denoted by the currency alphabetic code INR. Commonly known as the Indian Rupee, it is the primary currency for transactions within the country.

For a comprehensive reference encompassing major country codes, currency codes, and timezones relevant to India, please refer the tables below:

Country details

Formal namethe Republic of India
CapitalNew Delhi
Sub regionSouthern Asia

ISO Codes

ISO 3166-1 Alpha-2IN
ISO 3166-1 Alpha-3IND
ISO 3166-1 Numeric356

Dialing Code

Dialing code+91

Other Country Codes

Top Level
License plate codeIND
UN m49 code356
GAUL code115
MARC codeii
WMO codeIN
EDGAR codeK7
GS1 GTIN code890

Currency Codes

CurencyAlphabetic codeNumeric code
Indian RupeeINR356


TimezoneOffset UTCOffset DSTTime
Asia / Calcutta+05:30+05:30
Asia / Kolkata+05:30+05:30

Neighbouring countries

CountryCapitalISO codesDialing codeTLD
Flag of BangladeshBangladeshDhakaBD /
Flag of BhutanBhutanThimphuBT /
Flag of ChinaChinaBeijingCN /
Flag of MyanmarMyanmarNay Pyi TawMM /
Flag of NepalNepalKathmanduNP /
Flag of PakistanPakistanIslamabadPK /

ISO 3166-2 Codes

Subdivision nameSubdivision categoryISO Code
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsUnion territoryIN-AN
Andhra PradeshstateIN-AP
Arunachal PradeshstateIN-AR
ChandīgarhUnion territoryIN-CH
DelhiUnion territoryIN-DL
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuUnion territoryIN-DH
Himachal PradeshstateIN-HP
Jammu and KashmīrUnion territoryIN-JK
LadakhUnion territoryIN-LA
LakshadweepUnion territoryIN-LD
Madhya PradeshstateIN-MP
Puducherry (Pondicherry)Union territoryIN-PY
Tamil NadustateIN-TN
Uttar PradeshstateIN-UP
West BengalstateIN-WB



India is situated in Southern Asia, which is a subregion of the continent of Asia.

New Delhi serves as the capital of India.

The ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2, or two-letter country code, for India is IN, while the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3, or three-letter country code, is IND, and the ISO 3166-1 numeric code is 356. ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is a global federation of national standards bodies.

The dialing code for India is +91.

The top-level domain (TLD) for India-specific internet addresses ends with .in.

The currency code of India includes the currency alphabetic code INR and the currency numeric code 356. The currency is referred to as the Indian Rupee. ISO 4217 is a standard published by the International Organization for Standardization, defining alpha codes and numeric codes for representing currencies and providing information about the relationships between individual currencies and their minor units.

The license plate code for India is IND.

The UN M49 code for India is 356. UN M49, or the Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, is a standard used by the United Nations for statistical purposes.

The GAUL code for India is 115. GAUL, or the Global Administrative Unit Layers, is a spatial database of administrative units for all countries worldwide. It is a project of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The MARC code for India is ii. MARC, or machine-readable cataloging standards, are a set of digital formats for describing items cataloged by libraries, such as books, DVDs, and digital resources.

The FIPS code for India is IN. FIPS, or Federal Information Processing Standards, are publicly announced standards developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology for use in computer systems by non-military American government agencies and government contractors.

The WMO code for India is IN. WMO, or the World Meteorological Organization, is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for promoting international cooperation on atmospheric science, climatology, hydrology, and geophysics.

The IOC code for India is IND. The International Olympic Committee uses three-letter abbreviation country codes to refer to each group of athletes that participate in the Olympic Games. Each geocode usually identifies a National Olympic Committee.

The EDGAR code for India is K7. EDGAR, or the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The FIFA code for India is IND. FIFA, or Fédration Internationale de Football Association (International Federation of Association Football), assigns a three-letter country code to each of its member and non-member countries as name abbreviations for countries and dependent areas in official competitions.

The GS1 GTIN code for India is 890. GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit, international organization developing and maintaining standards, including barcodes. The most well-known of these standards is the barcode, a symbol printed on products that can be electronically scanned.