Egypt Flag SVGEgypt Country Codes

Egypt, formally known as the Arab Republic of Egypt, is situated in Northern Africa, a subregion of the region Africa. Its capital city is Cairo. Egypt is identified by various country codes. The ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 code, commonly referred to as the 2-letter country code for Egypt, is EG, while the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 code, known as the 3-letter country code, is EGY. Similarly, the ISO 3166-1 numeric code for Egypt is 818. When connecting via phone, the dialing code for Egypt is +20, which is essential for initiating calls to phone numbers in Egypt. Online, websites in Egypt are distinguished by the top-level domain (TLD) .eg, indicating their geographic origin. The currency utilized in Egypt is the Egyptian Pound, denoted by the currency alphabetic code EGP. Commonly known as the Egyptian Pound, it is the primary currency for transactions within the country.

For a comprehensive reference encompassing major country codes, currency codes, and timezones relevant to Egypt, please refer the tables below:

Country details

Formal namethe Arab Republic of Egypt
Sub regionNorthern Africa

ISO Codes

ISO 3166-1 Alpha-2EG
ISO 3166-1 Alpha-3EGY
ISO 3166-1 Numeric818

Dialing Code

Dialing code+20

Other Country Codes

Top Level
License plate codeET
UN m49 code818
GAUL code40765
MARC codeua
WMO codeEG
EDGAR codeH2
GS1 GTIN code622

Currency Codes

CurencyAlphabetic codeNumeric code
Egyptian PoundEGP818


TimezoneOffset UTCOffset DSTTime
Africa / Cairo+02:00+02:00

Neighbouring countries

CountryCapitalISO codesDialing codeTLD
Flag of IsraelIsraelJerusalemIL /
Flag of LibyaLibyaTripoliLY /
Flag of PalestinePalestineEast JerusalemPS /
Flag of SudanSudanKhartoumSD /

ISO 3166-2 Codes

Subdivision nameSubdivision categoryISO Code
Ad DaqahlīyahgovernorateEG-DK
Al Baḩr al Aḩmar (Red Sea)governorateEG-BA
Al BuḩayrahgovernorateEG-BH
Al FayyūmgovernorateEG-FYM
Al GharbīyahgovernorateEG-GH
Al Iskandarīyah (Alexandria)governorateEG-ALX
Al Ismā'īlīyahgovernorateEG-IS
Al Jīzah (Giza)governorateEG-GZ
Al MinyāgovernorateEG-MN
Al MinūfīyahgovernorateEG-MNF
Al QalyūbīyahgovernorateEG-KB
Al Qāhirah (Cairo)governorateEG-C
Al Uqşur (Luxor)governorateEG-LX
Al Wādī al Jadīd (New Valley)governorateEG-WAD
As Suways (Suez)governorateEG-SUZ
Ash SharqīyahgovernorateEG-SHR
Banī SuwayfgovernorateEG-BNS
Būr Sa‘īd (Port Said)governorateEG-PTS
Dumyāţ (Damietta)governorateEG-DT
Janūb Sīnā' (South Sinai)governorateEG-JS
Kafr ash ShaykhgovernorateEG-KFS
Shamāl Sīnā' (North Sinai)governorateEG-SIN
Sūhāj (Sohag)governorateEG-SHG



Egypt is situated in Northern Africa, which is a subregion of the continent of Africa.

Cairo serves as the capital of Egypt.

The ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2, or two-letter country code, for Egypt is EG, while the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3, or three-letter country code, is EGY, and the ISO 3166-1 numeric code is 818. ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is a global federation of national standards bodies.

The dialing code for Egypt is +20.

The top-level domain (TLD) for Egypt-specific internet addresses ends with .eg.

The currency code of Egypt includes the currency alphabetic code EGP and the currency numeric code 818. The currency is referred to as the Egyptian Pound. ISO 4217 is a standard published by the International Organization for Standardization, defining alpha codes and numeric codes for representing currencies and providing information about the relationships between individual currencies and their minor units.

The license plate code for Egypt is ET.

The UN M49 code for Egypt is 818. UN M49, or the Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, is a standard used by the United Nations for statistical purposes.

The GAUL code for Egypt is 40765. GAUL, or the Global Administrative Unit Layers, is a spatial database of administrative units for all countries worldwide. It is a project of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The MARC code for Egypt is ua. MARC, or machine-readable cataloging standards, are a set of digital formats for describing items cataloged by libraries, such as books, DVDs, and digital resources.

The FIPS code for Egypt is EG. FIPS, or Federal Information Processing Standards, are publicly announced standards developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology for use in computer systems by non-military American government agencies and government contractors.

The WMO code for Egypt is EG. WMO, or the World Meteorological Organization, is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for promoting international cooperation on atmospheric science, climatology, hydrology, and geophysics.

The IOC code for Egypt is EGY. The International Olympic Committee uses three-letter abbreviation country codes to refer to each group of athletes that participate in the Olympic Games. Each geocode usually identifies a National Olympic Committee.

The EDGAR code for Egypt is H2. EDGAR, or the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The FIFA code for Egypt is EGY. FIFA, or Fédration Internationale de Football Association (International Federation of Association Football), assigns a three-letter country code to each of its member and non-member countries as name abbreviations for countries and dependent areas in official competitions.

The GS1 GTIN code for Egypt is 622. GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit, international organization developing and maintaining standards, including barcodes. The most well-known of these standards is the barcode, a symbol printed on products that can be electronically scanned.

EcuadorBrazilTimor-LesteLesothoCzech Republic