Country codes of American SamoaAmerican Samoa

American Samoa, formally known as -, is located in Polynesia, which is a subregion of Oceania. The capital city of American Samoa is Pago Pago. For international communication, American Samoa is identified by various country codes. The ISO 3166-1 numeric code for American Samoa is 16, while its ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 code, commonly known as the 2-letter country code, is AS. Similarly, the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 code, often referred to as the 3-letter country code, is ASM.

When connecting via phone, the dialing code for American Samoa is +1-684. This code is essential for initiating calls to American Samoa phone numbers. Online, American Samoa websites are distinguished by the top-level domain (TLD) .as. This domain suffix is indicative of websites associated with American Samoa, offering users a clear indication of their geographic origin.

The currency utilized in American Samoa is the US Dollar, denoted by the currency alphabetic code USD. Commonly known as the US Dollar, it is the financial cornerstone of transactions within the country. For a comprehensive reference encompassing major country codes, currency codes, and timezones relevant to American Samoa, please refer the tables below:

Country details

Formal name-
CapitalPago Pago
Sub regionPolynesia

ISO Codes

ISO 3166-1 Alpha-2AS
ISO 3166-1 Alpha-3ASM
ISO 3166-1 Numeric16

Dialing Code

Dialing code+1-684

Other Country Codes

Top Level
License plate code-
UN m49 code16
GAUL code5
MARC codeas
WMO code-
EDGAR codeB5
GS1 GTIN code-

Currency Codes

CurencyAlphabetic codeNumeric code
US DollarUSD840


TimezoneOffset UTCOffset DSTTime



American Samoa is situated in Polynesia, which is a subregion of the continent of Oceania.

Pago Pago serves as the capital of American Samoa.

The ISO 3166-1 numeric code for American Samoa is 16, the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-2 or two-letter country code is AS, and the ISO 3166-1-Alpha-3 or three-letter country code is ASM. ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, is a global federation of national standards bodies.

The dialing code for American Samoa is +1-684.

The top-level domain (TLD) for American Samoa-specific internet addresses ends with .as.

The currency code of American Samoa includes the currency alphabetic code USD and the currency numeric code 840. The currency is referred to as the US Dollar. ISO 4217 is a standard published by the International Organization for Standardization, defining alpha codes and numeric codes for representing currencies and providing information about the relationships between individual currencies and their minor units.

The license plate code of American Samoa is -.

The UN M49 code for American Samoa is 16. UN M49, or the Standard Country or Area Codes for Statistical Use, is a standard used by the United Nations for statistical purposes.

The GAUL code for American Samoa is 5. GAUL, or the Global Administrative Unit Layers, is a spatial database of administrative units for all countries worldwide. It is a project of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The MARC code for American Samoa is as. MARC, or machine-readable cataloging standards, are a set of digital formats for describing items cataloged by libraries, such as books, DVDs, and digital resources.

The FIPS code for American Samoa is AQ. FIPS, or Federal Information Processing Standards, are publicly announced standards developed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology for use in computer systems by non-military American government agencies and government contractors.

The WMO code for American Samoa is -. WMO, or the World Meteorological Organization, is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for promoting international cooperation on atmospheric science, climatology, hydrology, and geophysics.

The IOC code for American Samoa is ASA. The International Olympic Committee uses three-letter abbreviation country codes to refer to each group of athletes that participate in the Olympic Games. Each geocode usually identifies a National Olympic Committee.

The EDGAR code for American Samoa is B5. EDGAR, or the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The FIFA code for American Samoa is ASA. FIFA, or Fédration Internationale de Football Association (International Federation of Association Football), assigns a three-letter country code to each of its member and non-member countries as name abbreviations for countries and dependent areas in official competitions.

The GS1 GTIN code for American Samoa is -. GS1 is a neutral, not-for-profit, international organization developing and maintaining standards, including barcodes. The most well-known of these standards is the barcode, a symbol printed on products that can be electronically scanned.